The Chakra System

What is the chakra system?

The word chakra comes from the sanskrit word meaning wheel or disk. The chakras are the moderators of energy within the body, often depicted as lotus flowers of a particular colour and each one resonating at a different frequency. Though they are often seen as part of the Hindu culture, the concept of chakras and internal energy systems can be seen throughout history and many different cultures from the ancient Egyptians to the Celts.

Chakras are an ancient system that has been studied for thousands of years and are a key component in our spiritual health and wellbeing.These energy centres of spiritual power are the transfer points for our thoughts, feelings and specific functions of our organs.

Your life force moves through these energy centres and helps to keep your body in balance and harmony with the world. These energy centres can become blocked and this can manifest in the body as physical ailments or life patterns. These chakras are located along the spine, starting at the base all the way up to the crown of the head. There are seven main chakras starting with the root chakra at the base of the spine, the sacral chakra, solar plexus chakra, heart chakra, throat chakra, third eye chakra and the crown chakra. The first three chakras connect us in the physical world, the heart chakra blends the physical with the spiritual and the last three chakras connect us to the divine or spirit. So lets explore each one:

The first chakra – Root Chakra

The root chakra is located at the base of the spine, its Sanskrit name is Muladhara and its colour is red. It physically is associated with the spinal column, legs, kidneys and colon. This chakra governs your sense of security and base emotions. It is your literal roots to the world and includes your basic survival instincts. Interestingly this chakra also holds your ancestral fears from your parents and their parents through your DNA. Our environment from conception to death is effected within this chakra – this chakra holds onto everything you have experienced in life so far. This chakra can become unbalanced if your physical needs are not being met and is greatly influenced by your “tribe”, or the people you spend most of your time with.This chakra can hold onto resentments towards places, people and money.

The second chakra – Sacral Chakra

The sacral chakra is located at the sacrum, its Sanskrit name is Svadisthana and its colour is orange. It is physically associated with the reproductive organs, prostate and bladder. This chakra governs your emotional balance, sexuality, pleasure and creativity.

The third chakra – Solar Plexus Chakra

The solar plexus chakra is located near the navel, its Sanskrit name is Manipura and its colour is yellow. It is physically associated with the pancreas, liver and stomach. This chakra governs your personal power and self-esteem.

The fourth chakra – Heart Chakra

The heart chakra is located near the heart, its Sanskrit name is Anahata and its colour is green. It is associated with the heart and circulatory system. This chakra governs your love – including self-love, compassion, harmony and peace. It is the chakra that blends the lower physical chakras with the higher spiritual chakras. 

The fifth chakra – Throat Chakra

The throat chakra is located within the throat, its Sanskrit name is Vishudha and its colour is blue. It is physically associated with the throat, thyroid and mouth. This chakra governs your communication, truth and willpower.

The sixth chakra – Third Eye Chakra

The third eye chakra is located on the forehead, its Sanskrit name is Anja and its colour is deep purple or indigo. It is physically associated with the pituitary gland, pineal gland, nose and ears. This chakra governs your imagination, wisdom and intuition.

The seventh chakra – Crown Chakra

The crown chakra is located at the top of the head. Its Sanskrit name is Sahasrara and its colour is either violet, gold or white. It is not physically associated with parts of the body but associated with the spirit. This chakra governs your connection to your spirit and the divine and is where all energy flows through.

Removing a blockage or to balance a chakra that is overacting can be done through meditation, sound frequency, emotional healing including shadow work and various forms of counselling, exercise including yoga which is extremely beneficial for working with the chakras and energy systems within the body, eating foods and tonics to help balance them, energy healing and cleansing techniques. Living a life of balance and harmony can help to ensure your chakras also stay balanced which in turn helps your body to remain healthy.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s